Friday/Saturday…

Friday was one of the hardest days of my life. We met with my oncologist and she gave us the final report from my PET/CT from Monday.

My stomach had been swollen for a few days and we thought this was due to the steroids I was taking and we were gradually decreasing the amounts so I could get off of them completely.  Turns out that my liver is also swollen and maybe pushing on some other organs causing my entire belly to appear swollen.

Angelo and I were very upset to hear this news (I started to hyperventilate, crying hysterically, everyone was rubbing my back trying to calm me down) and just wanted to get to the point of treatment options.

My doctor offered 4 options for treatment: 2 drug trials and 2 mainstream chemotherapies. They gave us all of the information and left us in the room to decide. I can’t tell you what went in in that room while we were left to decide, but I can tell you that it was very emotional. We really thought about each drug and weighed the side effects and finally decided on Taxotere, which is one of the more mainstream drugs. Both of the trials would require me to have no medication 3 weeks prior to receiving them (1 allowed hormone treatment, but that hasn’t worked for me in the past) and with my tumor markers rising and my liver being swollen, we weren’t willing to risk that time.

With the Taxotere you are opposed to take steroids the night before, but there able to give them to me via IV right before they administered the drug.  The drug took about 1 hour to push in and will need to be repeated every 3 weeks.  We will also check my tumor markers every 3 weeks, and do  my scans every 9 weeks instead of 12, or sooner if we felt it was necessary.

We left the breast center feeling exhausted, sad and empty.  But I know that I can speak for Angelo that we also never felt so close to one another.  We spent that night with some family, just releasing some emotions, getting some warm hugs and going to bed early.

My friend Beth came in early Saturday morning from Cleveland to spend the day with Ange and I before she had to work here for a buying trip for Lingg for the next few days.  I unfortunately felt like crap all day and the entire day just seams like a hazy memory…  Thank goodness when I woke up this morning I felt a bit better.

Today so far Ange and I have done a little straightening up, and later on he is going to hang out with his brother while I hang out with my sister-n-law and just RELAX!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Friday/Saturday…

  1. Tina esposito says:

    Jen I know you and Ang weighed all of your options and I’m sure decided on the absolute best. Keeping you both in my thoughts and prayers and sending you hugs hugs and more hugs! XOXO Tina

  2. Erin santos says:

    Mainstream drug feels right. Something with a reputation is good. Happy you have people around you. Wish there was something I could do..

    Hugs,
    E

  3. Michelle says:

    I’m so happy Beth and family have been surrounding you and Ange with love. I can’t wait to see you and give you even more hugs and love. Love u Jen.

  4. Jen Jen Jen! To a gorgeous, talented, and immensely strong lady! I can’t believe I am commenting to you, as I haven’t physically seen you or talked to you since our sophomore year of high school at the Elms – or may be at a random party, but I have been praying to God for your every day and have been thinking about all that you are going through. I pray that each day you spend happy warm moments forgetting about your cancer, and just bask in the love of Angelo and friends. And I also pray that each day you think about the cancer and how your journey has meaning and can help others, like you said in an earlier blog. I know you touched my life back in high school, with your charisma, spunk and sweet sweet personality. I can see from your blog etc, that you and your husband are reaching thousands of souls, as well! AMAZING! You are going through something not even a 1/4 of us could understand, but with such dignity and humility! I will keep praying for good decisions, talented doctors, caring team of helpers, and continued love and support of friends. I will also pray for God to work a miracle and cure your body! Anytime would be a good time. So, hope you’re not offended by my lack of contact, and picking now to do so. Your long long ago high school friend, Teresa

  5. Tracy says:

    Dammit!!! Noone should have to face the choices you are making. You guys know what is right for you. Trust in your decisions..feel all the love from us all. You both mean so much to me.

  6. Katie Chery says:

    The dynamic duo strikes again–you and Ange are a formidable team, even on what was a terribly hard day as you said. I have no doubt that you picked the best treatment option. I’m always with you in spirit. And tonight I’m sending you a galaxy of love, deep breaths, butterfly kisses, healing energy, hugs, and smiles. Love you!

  7. lu says:

    sounds like a good plan…i’m so sorry that it was such a difficult day for you… i echo what everyone else has been saying…glad you had time with family and friends and if there is ANYTHING i can do, ANYTHING, please don’t be afraid to ask…i love you both…

  8. Sasha says:

    Love you tons. I’m here for you and Ange. Let me know what I can do and in meantime let’s FaceTime. It was so good to see you,Ange and Beth on Sat…. Xoxoxo

  9. Patrick says:

    Wish I was there to give you lots of hugs and love and a massage. I am so sorry you are dealing with this. I know you made the right decision. You are both in my heart and prayers. Sending lots of love and light your way and I hope today is a great day. xoxoxoxoxo

  10. Jessica says:

    There are really no words. The burden you guys are carrying is immense, and these days gets heavier all the time. Yet you do it every day — and with such unfliching honesty and grace. You and Ange are true partners, in every sense of the word. The fact that you can recognize that in the midst of what you’re dealing with is amazing. Love you love you love you love you….

  11. Stacey says:

    I am sorry that you have had to deal with this. Just know that we pray for you and your family every day and wish only the best for you.

  12. Anne Bickett says:

    No one deserves the kind of hell you have been through. I wish so much that we could take this away from you, Jenny. Always in our thoughts and prayers
    Love
    Aunt Anne

Leave a comment