Beauty…

Last night my sister helped me go shopping, since Ange and I were in charge of cooking last night. Our first stop was at a roadside fruit stand that is about a mile from where we are staying.

I picked out a huge Watermelon (the gentlemen working the stand went in back and got me the sweetest Watermelon he had!) 5 gorgeous tomatoes, 1 large red onion, and 5 perfectly plump plums!

My sister and I walked up to the counter to pay and the gentlemen simple said “have a nice day”. My sister and I looked at each other very confused. “But I have to pay?, I said. He didn’t answer our question, but offered to carry the watermelon to our car. I remained in my spot at the counter, so I could at least pay him something, but when I laid some money down he said, “please mam, any money you leave will insult me”. My sister and I were so moved by his generosity, we thanked him a million times, and got in the car. The entire ride back my sister and I cried. We were both so touched by this man and a random act of kindness. Pzlease, please if you are ever in North Topsail Beach, on Topsail Island you must visit him…

There really are good people out there…thank goodness:)

20110727-105228.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Beauty…

  1. Erin santos says:

    I love this story. People don’t realize how little things like this just say so much. You definitely deserve more than a watermelon, but it was what this man could give so he gave it. Hope it inspires people to do this for others.

    I once had a woman buy me a magazine and vitamin water in the airport when I was crying after ib had relapsed. Odd thing to do but I was so grateful. $5.00 was all it took.

    Missing you so much.. And hope your dinner was yummy. Kisses from Isabella too.

  2. Anne Bickett says:

    Wow! I get so discouraged sometimes with the rude, inconsiderate people that I typically meet while shopping. This story is so gratifying, and it couldn’t have happened to two nicer people. I hope that you are all having a wonderful week at Topsail. God knows, you deserve a good time. Did you get to have that glass of wine?

    Love,
    Aunt Anne

  3. Nancy says:

    What a delicious story on all fronts! It restores your faith in people. I am sure you all enjoyed the farm fresh produce – certainly grown with love. Looks and sounds like you are having a wonderful time! Sending you Big Apple smooches and hugs.

  4. lu says:

    am i the only one who wants to know what meal you and angelo prepared? 😉 there definately are good people in the world…and the good people have a way of finding the good people… so glad he found you xo

  5. Kendra says:

    I’m tearing up reading this. It’s so wonderful to hear about generosity and kindness of the people around you. And I agree with Lu, the good people definitely have a way of finding each other.
    Between my eyes tearing and my mouth watering, I’m a waterfall right now!

  6. Tina says:

    I am always amazed when I hear of things like this. However, in this case I think it was God’s way of showing you a rainbow in what sometimes appears to be a big cloud in the sky! I am so glad for you (and for your sister too!!) I am sure this was a wonderful feeling because I am moved from reading about it. It seems like this vacation is just what you needed..Keep smiling Jennifer – Love you. XOXO Tina

  7. Nicole Ricchiuti says:

    I dito everyone else…I’m choked up. It was such a simple act of kindness, but yet so powerful. I’m not surprised Jen, because you have always been so generous. This does prove that even the simple things mean so much. Enjoy the rest of your trip. It looks like a beautiful place to be!

  8. Margaret says:

    Honestly, when you write stories like this Jen, I am compelled to pay it forward. So, know that the next selfless thing I do in my life is because of you. And by the way, there’s nothing that compares to a Carolina watermelon bought at a roadside stand, right?!?!?

  9. Sasha says:

    Simple, beautiful and heart-achingly moving… Yes, good people find good people. Love you.

  10. Jessica says:

    You get back what you give out when it comes to people, and beauty finds beauty. I bet the watermelons were extra sweet. xoxo

Leave a Reply

