Originally Posted 6.9.2011″roller coaster”

Yesterday was a pretty crazy day.. It was the 2nd day in a row that I wasn’t allowed to eat after midnight because they were going to do two procedures. The first one, the temp. Nerve block happened sometime before noon. The team wasn’t able to find a room to do it in, so they decided to do it in my room! All of a sudden the lights were turned down real low, and two large machines were brought into the room, with about 5 doctors and Ange was tucked in the corner of the room. They turned the ultrasound machine on and started to look for the nerve they wanted. I have to admit it was interesting to watch so closely. Once the doctor found the one he wanted, I looked back at him, and he quickly said “don’t look” but it was too late, I already saw the very long needle he was about to stick in my leg. I’m not afraid of needles, so I told him, I was fine. He injected the needle, guided by the ultrasound machine and slowly injected the numbing medicine.
Once he did that, it was all over and my room was quickly turned back into my room:).

Since that was done, we were waiting to see how it felt and also to be called to get a port inserted so I dont have to be stuck anymore for treatments or procedures. Hours passed, with naps included,but still no call to get the port. My leg numbed up and started to really help my mobilization, but they still hadn’t called for my port. Then around, 4:30ish , a doctor said they were not able to squeeze me in because of a couple emergencies. I was pretty disappointed, because I wanted to get it over with,(and I had starved myself all day) but totally understood because “stuff happens.”

Today is another day that I can’t eat because of the port procedure, so hopefully it gets done pretty early so I don’t get cranky!

P.S. They also changed my meds… They increased the dose of methadone to 100 and to a liquid form (it tastes disgusting!) they took away the continuous low flow of the other pain meds and might try to switch to pills today, so I can get out tomorrow to get chemo at the breast center.

I’ve had many great visitors and beautiful flowers!
Thank you, thank you, thank you!

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Camille & Larry Wise at Thursday, June 9, 2011, 7:22 AM


The good news is you have an awesome appetite. The bad news is you can’t eat. Getting cranky? Does that mean Suzy shows up? Oh my!!!!!!!! Here’s to an early procedure so you can eat in a timely manner. Love You guys.

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Sasha Rau at Thursday, June 9, 2011, 9:03 AM


I am so glad things are moving along and it sounds like the nerve block ultimately started helping? I hope by now you already have the port so you can eat!!
Love you both.

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Katie Chery at Thursday, June 9, 2011, 10:14 AM


That’s good news about the nerve block. Hopefully you will get the port soon and can then order two of everything on the menu! I love you! Xxxooo

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Lu Semenzin at Thursday, June 9, 2011, 11:31 AM


in spite of all this drama…you “sound” good! so happy to hear that the nerve block took place and appears to be helping…i would NOT have been able to look at that needle! your bravery is impressive, young grasshopper! as far as the fasting…i would’ve been cranky early yesterday…hang in there, and eat something yummy when you are allowed. much love to you and angelo…tell him chicago pie is being ordered immediately!! mwah!

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Erin Santos at Thursday, June 9, 2011, 11:36 PM


Very happy that you decided to do the port. I don’t think you will regret it. Load up on numbing cream and princess band-aids. :). I agree that you do sound better. Like seeing you like this again..

Hugs to you and ange.

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Tina Esposito at Friday, June 10, 2011, 10:16 AM


Jennifer, so sorry to hear about all of this. I have been unable to get to your message board, but I have had you in my thoughts and prayers every day. I’m glad that Ange is by your side and so glad that you have each other. I’m really hoping to come into the city soon so I can atleast stop by and give you a long-awaited for HUGE HUG that I’ve been wanting to give you!!! I hope to see you real soon. All my love to you and Ange…Tina XOXO

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

