Originally Posted 6.15.2011 “So sorry this took so long..”

I did have treatment on Monday..I’m very sorry it took me so long to post! Michelle joined Ange and I that day which was nice. Having an extra friend there is a great distraction to the days events. They squeezed me in so we waited about and hour or so until they called us in. Once we got into the room I told the nurse that the doctors at the hospital had suggested they use my PiC Line for chemo, then pull it out after (this way my port would have ample time to heal( but I did also know that they could use the port the same day you have it implanted.) kind of confusing… Anyway… The PIC line was clogged, so my nurse said we we’re going to use the port! I began to sweat a little, I guess just because i wasn’t prepared to use it. She pulled out my PiC line first, which was 43 cm long….crazy!!!!
The nurse told me to take a deep breath and then she wouldnaccess the port. Deep breath and click it was in…no problem at all..phew..then she tried to get a blood return and nothing was happening. She said that this was probably clogged as well,s so she pushed some heparin through, let it sit and try again, so we did several times and finally after she adjusted the needle a bit we were good to go!

Over the last few days the pain has been much better. I really only experience it in the middle of the night, so i take a rescue dose of meds which seems to help.
Unfortunately, i have had lots of of mouth sores, which are keeping me up too. But my “magic mouthwash” seems to help too!

Sorry for being away for so long!

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Katie Chery at Wednesday, June 15, 2011, 11:20 PM


Wonderful that you got treatment, that the port worked in the end, and that the pain has been better. And thank goodness for magic mouthwash! Sending you love, hugs, and lots more magic when you need it. XXXOOO

LOVE (reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Camille wise at Wednesday, June 15, 2011, 11:54 PM


I’m so grateful that things are going your way, finally! You are in my heart and in my thoughts every hour of every day. I pray each day that this burden be lifted for you and Angelo. Let this spring be a new beginning for you two. Hugs to Both of you.xoxox Mom

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Alyce Wagner at Thursday, June 16, 2011, 6:38 AM


Glad to hear more positive news. Sorry you had to go through all that with your port. Hopefully, it will work okay from now on. Lots of positive love, thoughts and prayers coming from here to you and Ange. XXXOOO

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Sasha Rau at Thursday, June 16, 2011, 8:13 AM


I am SO GLAD to hear your pain is finally better! And that, as your mom put it, things are finally going your way. Glad the magic mouth wash helps the mouth sores. I love you both!

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Dianna Kamp at Thursday, June 16, 2011, 8:41 PM


Ditto what your Mom said…so so glad the pain is improving…will come over when you want/need company…big big hug to both of you…

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Suzi Jones at Thursday, June 16, 2011, 9:22 PM


so happy to see your pain is less!! Can’t wait to see you soon! Love!

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Lu Semenzin at Friday, June 17, 2011, 9:48 AM


hurrah! i’m so glad to hear all of this news!! and a 43cm pic line? yikes!! where did that enter? i love you and remain so optimistic that you will be triumphant…thanks for bringing me along on your journey! xoxo

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Sasha Rau at Friday, June 17, 2011, 9:36 PM


Thinking of you this evening…
xo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

