Originally Posted 5.8.2011 “4:30 AM”

ive been up since 3:45 am.. I went to the bathroom and when I stood up to wash my hands, the pain really kicked in. I walked back to my bed and I accessed my pain. I decided to call my nurse to get an extra dose of pain meds. She came in, gave it to me, and stood with me for a few minutes to see if it was working,,,I was still having pain, so she went and got me some warm packs to place on my groin where the pain is (I found out from the attending that hip pain presents itself in the groin.. Wish someone else had told me that before, because that really eased my mind..why was I feeling all this pain in my groin too?)

I tried to pull up a movie that I wanted to watch, trying to ignore the pain…(while I kept trying to press the pain pump to see if the 15 minutes was up for another dose) finally time for another dose…thank goodness, then about 5 minutes into it I fell a little twinge of pain around my IV site and I pulled up my sleeve to look and there was a little blood around the IV. I called the nurse back in, she immediately checked the IV and it had blown. We cleaned up the area and she called in a PRO to put in a new line… He searched around my arm for a good vein and found one pretty quickly near my wrist.. Nurse came back in, hooked me back up and I pressed for another dose…it’s been about 5 minutes which brings me to now… 5:01 am.. I’m going to go to the the bathroom, plug the movie back in and go to sleep..

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Michelle Tolpa at Sunday, May 8, 2011, 6:31 AM


I hope You are sound a sleep and pain free by now. I love you all and I’m glad you are with your parents today. Big hugs to you all and you are always in my thoughts, on my mind and in my heart…..

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Nancy Hafter at Sunday, May 8, 2011, 6:47 AM


Oh Jen. I hope you managed to get some sleep, and that the pain is subsiding. Thinking of you and love you. Xoxo

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Lu Semenzin at Sunday, May 8, 2011, 8:01 AM


i really wish you could catch a break over there…a good night’s sleep. pain-free. that’s what i wish for you today, and every day. glad you got a PRO to re-stick you…that always helps. i hate those IV lines. you are being a real trooper through all of this. i hpoe youare sleeping soundly right now and they better not wake you up when they do their rounds…

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Katie Downie at Sunday, May 8, 2011, 9:01 AM


I hope you got a little rest, really wish things would start turning around for you just a little, I’m thinking of you and love you, hope its a better day tell your mom Happy Mother’s Day, glad you have her today:) xoxoxo

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Sasha Rau at Sunday, May 8, 2011, 11:03 AM


Jen I am thinking of you constantly and hoping you are finding relief. I hate those blown veins ugh!! I love you…

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Dianna Kamp at Sunday, May 8, 2011, 11:50 AM


thinking about you constantly – hope having your mom and dad there is helping you get through this – parents always seem to make things better but it sucks no matter how you look at it. we are around if you need anything at all xoxo

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Tina Esposito at Sunday, May 8, 2011, 2:05 PM


Thinking of you Jen and wishing you sweet dreams! I wish that I could take your pain away and give you a bouquet of sunshine. You are a strong, sweet, beautiful person and I wish you better days ahead. Get some rest! Love, Tina

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Katie Chery at Sunday, May 8, 2011, 3:51 PM


I hope that by now you’ve had a nap, enjoyed some orange and coconut spritzer, and are enjoying being with your wonderful parents and amazing husband. And hopefully, of course, the X-ray provided more information and helps you get back to a pain-free state. I’m soooooo happy that we got to see you all this weekend.

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Michelle McNamee at Sunday, May 8, 2011, 5:11 PM


Sending you lots of love & a big hug & hoping that the pain has subsided. I’m so happy that your parents are visiting you & know that their presence & love along with angelo’s, is making you feel better. xoxo

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Nancy Hafter at Monday, May 9, 2011, 6:15 AM


You are amazing, wake up from a nap and get right into the moment, I could not even tell you were in pain. So strong. So good to see you, your parents and Angelo. I hope today goes well – give ’em H E Double Hockey Sticks! Xoxo

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Sasha Rau at Monday, May 9, 2011, 9:17 AM


Thinking about you this morning, my sweet friend…

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Lu Semenzin at Monday, May 9, 2011, 11:10 AM


hey girl! there was some talk about going home today…does it look like that’s going to happen? really hope it does…nothing like sleeping in your own bed!!! hope they are staying on top of the pain now, and that they are caring for you the way they should!! bastards. give ’em hell…though i HATE that you are having to fight this battle with healthcare…the battle is suppose to be with CANCER! not the institution restoring you to health…somebody needs to explain that to them! wish i was there to kick someone’s ass for you! you know i’m not a fighter, but for you, i’d put the gloves on!!! xoxoxo

4:30 AM (reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by danielle robertson at Monday, May 9, 2011, 11:49 AM


Hope you are feeling more rested, now.
Luv ya, dubbs

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Jessica Moser at Monday, May 9, 2011, 8:18 PM


I hope today was better and you got the focus, care and attention you deserve!!! I hate that you’re having to struggle with this bulls*&t bureaucracy on top of your pain, and cancer. Sending you love. And I want to know what you thought of my doc as well…

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Katie Chery at Monday, May 9, 2011, 10:46 PM


I’ve been thinking about you all day, hoping that good things are happening and that you’re getting what you need. Soak in all of the love from Ange and your parents and know that the rest of us are sending love, hugs, and support from a distance.

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Agneta Palmblad at Tuesday, May 10, 2011, 1:09 AM


Sometimes the tv can be a good sleeping pill in the wee hours. (Boring infomercials?)
Sweet Jen, my thoughts are with you and Ange. Hope you can come home soon !
I’m sending you hugs and love.

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Aimee Merendino at Tuesday, May 10, 2011, 7:50 AM


Jen, I really hope you can break out of there and get home to your own bed. I pray that all the “drama” has died down and they are caring for YOU the way they should be. We are always thinking of you, rooting for you, and lifting you up for all things good, healing and whole. Lean on us, use us. Love you.

Friends (reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Camille wise at Tuesday, May 10, 2011, 8:20 AM


i wanted to tell all how much I appreciate your prayers,good thoughts, and relief from pain wishes. Your support is comforting especially when we are not here. Thank you is all we can say…

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Lu Semenzin at Tuesday, May 10, 2011, 6:41 PM


hi friend. it’s been a couple of days since your last update…hoping that just means there is nothing worth writing about…you are resting comfortably. they are managing your pain. so much for you to be coping with…hopefully you’ll be home soon and can get back to the business of restoring your health. love you so much…keeping you in all my thoughts…sending you all positive energy for rest and health. mwah

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Katie Chery at Tuesday, May 10, 2011, 7:46 PM


I, as usual, am thinking about you and sending you every bit of love that I can through the cosmos. And I’m already starting to think about our next trip to NYC! School ends June 17 and then I’m free as a bird to come and see you. XXXOOO

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Aimee Merendino at Tuesday, May 10, 2011, 10:22 PM


Missing your updates, Jen…I hope it is a sign that you are truly resting and finding peacefulness. Thought about you all day, especially sitting in the sun at the park with the boys, it was so warm, I was hoping you were feeling some of that sunshine..xxoo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

