Originally Posted 5.11.2011 “Sorry!!!”

I’m so sorry that I haven’t written sooner. I am finding typing to be quite difficult.. It makes very sleepy..
(I have already re-written this about 5 times!l) it’s all of the drugs! I have asked Ange to bring my glasses, to help with straining.

So I am on day 13 in the hospital. And we are still trying to control the pain meds. We are almost there, so the plan is that even if I have to leave with the pain pump, I will be going home on Friday and heading straight to the breast center for my Eribulin!!!

I’d like to explain the “!!!” after the Eribulin. As part of the never ending mystery of pain and swelling, they decided to run a blood test to see where my tumor markers are, which would help them decide the urgency of chemo, and what kind to give me. So as you can imagine, when I requested the blood counts for that day I was very nervous! Angelo picked them up and he read me some of the numbers. I glanced over at the sheet and saw the numbers I was looking for. I looked at Ange and said I need to talk to the nurse. I was pacing with my walker (:() and finally the nurse came over and confirmed that the numbers that saw were rightband something to be EXCITED about!

My CEA marker went down from 42.5 to 18!!!
My CA 15-3 marker went down from 47 to 36!!!

This as you can imagine, is excellent news and means that Eribulin is really working!! My doctor is still trying to get the hospital to allow me to receive Eribulin inpatient. If for whatever reason that doesn’t work” we know that no matter what, I will get Eribulin on Friday!!!

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Dianna Kamp at Wednesday, May 11, 2011, 7:13 AM


HI! Hoping the “so” is a good thing. Hoping you can get home today and your pain is managed. Keep us posted – hoping to have you and your parents over before they leave. hugs to everyone – Hoping that you aren’t going to see the inside of a hospital for a very long time. big big hug xoxox

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Sasha Rau at Wednesday, May 11, 2011, 7:59 AM


Oh honey did you fall asleep again? 😉

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Nancy Hafter at Wednesday, May 11, 2011, 9:32 AM


So great to see you last night! And even better to hear this fabulous, excellent, wonderful news!!!!! Friday can’t come soon enough. Sending you lots and lots of love and keep the good news coming! xoxo

Great News (reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by kelley fisher at Wednesday, May 11, 2011, 10:04 AM


Jennifer I am so excited to hear some good news for you! Your Indy family will keep the prayers coming your way.
Love,
Kelley

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Tina Esposito at Wednesday, May 11, 2011, 11:13 AM


Well finally some good news Jen. I hope they can get the pain under control and you come home friday feeling atleast somewhat better. I was hoping to come into the city tuesday afternoon(5/17) if you think you would be up for a visit i would LOVE to come see you!! Hugs and more HUGS..Love, Tina

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Aimee Merendino at Wednesday, May 11, 2011, 11:21 AM


WOOHOO! That is the BEST news Jen!!! So happy that this”heavy hitter” truly is that!!! Awesome and thank you for posting, I missed you! HUGS all around, I hope we can visit you soon!!

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Katie Chery at Wednesday, May 11, 2011, 11:34 AM


Hooraaaaayyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That is wonderful news!!!!!!!!!!!!! Good, good, good, good, good, better, and BEST!!!!!!!!!!!! Hugs and smiles, beautiful friend. Yaaayyyyyyyy!!!!!

I think it’s because… (reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Jennifer Merendino at Wednesday, May 11, 2011, 2:21 PM


y2’s gift!!!!

BUZZ LIGHT YEAR and his LION,

Thank You so much

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Alyce Wagner at Wednesday, May 11, 2011, 4:32 PM


Oh my gosh!!! That is wonderful news. I have been checking several times a day to see what was happening and I was getting worried. FINALLY SOME GOOD NEWS! I am so happy for you and Ange. Now, lets keep the good news coming. Yeh Erulilin!!!

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Lu Semenzin at Wednesday, May 11, 2011, 8:01 PM


yahoo!! finally you got some good news! can only imagine what you must have felt when you first looked at those numbers…is that? am i seeing that right? does that say? WOOHOO!!!! gah…so so thrilled for you to have gotten some good news, after this long, grueling hospital stay. don’t even want to hear the logic behind you having to LEAVE a top-notch cancer center in order to receive cancer treatment…but let’s stay with the good news!!! wahoo! now, to get that pain managed…hang in there and celebrate the moment!!! much love to you all!!!

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Colleen Dangerfield at Wednesday, May 11, 2011, 10:01 PM


Sooo glad that you have good news!! You both deserve it after all the hospital hoop jumping. Yay Eribulin!!! Love you! xoxo

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Patrick Beller at Thursday, May 12, 2011, 2:45 AM


I am so happy to hear about the numbers. Thank God for the Eribulin- whew!!!! I love you more than words can say sister. I am sending the good vibes from L.A. and hoping the good news keeps coming! xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo x0)

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Beth Finley at Thursday, May 12, 2011, 7:25 AM


Something awesome had to come out of this long crazy ride….I’m so happy the number are this good!!! You needed this physically and mentality to give you a positive boost! I can’t wait for you to at home safe and sound with your amazing husband and family who never left your side. You are my inspiration 🙂 I love you every day forever!!!!

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Sasha Rau at Thursday, May 12, 2011, 8:47 AM


Yay Jen!! I am so happy about this. It was so good to be with you yesterday and I hope you got that neupogen shot exactly as they promised and that your counts are rising as I write this.
Love you!!
And by the way, it was so great to meet your parents finally. Your mom and I didn’t get a chance to finish our conversation… Please tell her that what I wanted to say is how lucky I feel to have you as a friend and that I love you so very much…

I AM SMILING….. (reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Deborah Pangallo at Thursday, May 12, 2011, 4:37 PM
(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Annika Kaye at Thursday, May 12, 2011, 8:23 PM


Crying happy tears! So glad you get to go home tomorrow! Love n’ hugs!

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Nancy Hafter at Thursday, May 12, 2011, 8:58 PM


Just wanted you to know that I am thinking of you and hoping the pain has subsided more and that all is on track for tomorrow. Big hugs and smooches doll xoxo

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Michelle McNamee at Thursday, May 12, 2011, 9:02 PM


Wonderful news Jen! And combined with you being in your own home, surrounded by all the people & things that you love is exactly what you need! That’s the Diva Warrior we know & love:). Lots of love to you, Angelo & your parents! xoxo

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Kendra Coppey at Friday, May 13, 2011, 6:06 AM


Jennifer!! I’m beside myself with excitement to hear the news about your markers AND that you’re going home!! Yes yes yes!! Much love to you guys and can’t wait to see you soon!! HUGE hugs and kisses xxo

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Sasha Rau at Friday, May 13, 2011, 9:30 AM


Thinking of you today xoxo

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Katie Chery at Friday, May 13, 2011, 10:34 AM


Sending you love this morning! XXXOOO

Today’s the day… (reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Jessica Moser at Friday, May 13, 2011, 11:30 AM


… you get to get the Eribulin which is knocking your counts down AND you get to go home!!! wooohooooo!!!! sending love…

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Tina Esposito at Friday, May 13, 2011, 1:59 PM


sending love today and hoping you are having a good day! looking forward to seeing you next week 🙂 Love, Tina

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by kisha Johnson at Monday, May 16, 2011, 3:40 AM


WHEW!!!!!!! Some good news for a change…..Thank God! Those new numbers put a smile on my face

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

