Originally Posted 4.29.2011 “Urgent Care…”

I’m laying in a bed in Urgent Care at Sloan-Kettering.. What a way to spend my day off with my sister!!! Sucks!! My pain doctor wanted me to come in today to get scans done of my back/hip area. They upped my pain medication again and it still doesn’t take the pain away. Last night Laura and I noticed that in addition to my lower back swelling, my left hip is swollen and warm…

The doctor at Urgent Care told me that he was going to do an xray…(obviously he’s not reading my chart because I just had one done a week and a half ago) I told him that Dr. Glare (the pain doctor) wanted me to get an MRI. He said ok.. But I had to tell him that I am extremely claustrophobic so I need to be knocked out (as in general anesthesia) he said he didn’t know if an anesthesiologist would come do that for an MRI. I said “would it help if I know the Chief of anesthesiology?” he kind of laughed…
I quickly sent my friend Donna Wilson (who is married to Roger , the Chief) and within 5 minutes he was at the foot of my bed!!!!!!!

He is so amazing… He said that he was going to see exactly what orders they put in and give his friend who handles these cases at Sloan a call..UPDATE!! Roger just walked in and said that it is all taken care of… His friend is going to do it for me!!!!! (I had an idea this might happen today, so I purposely didn’t eat after midnight last night and this morning)

Thank God for Donna and Roger!!!!

I’ll check back

Sending you so much love (reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Kendra Coppey at Friday, April 29, 2011, 12:10 PM


Jennifer, I’m thinking of you and Ange today, as always. I’m so so glad you’re getting the attention you need and deserve. Sending you so much love and HUGE hugs. xxooo

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Nancy Hafter at Friday, April 29, 2011, 1:09 PM


I am off today and can be anywhere you need in a NY minute. “Taxeeeeeee”. Please let me know. Xoxo

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Lu Semenzin at Friday, April 29, 2011, 3:52 PM


so glad you know people in high places! what a great thing today, huh? sending you so much love…and ange…hope you get some answers today and a treatment plan for this incessant pain. 😦 f’ing cancer…we are so DONE with YOU! love you, jennifer! glad laura is there with you…not the way to spend a day off, but i bet she is grateful to be able to be with you, wherever you are!!

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Colleen Dangerfield at Friday, April 29, 2011, 9:59 PM


This all must be so overwhelming. And dealing with the all the pain on top of it. I am so glad you were able to name drop and get some dedicated care! And I’m also so glad you have so many visitors coming! Love you and Ange soo much. xxoo

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Aimee Merendino at Friday, April 29, 2011, 10:07 PM


Jennifer, thank goodness that you can speak up, speak for yourself and know your body so well…and you are so “connected”! Hi to Laura, hugs to you and Angelo (and Laura too!). We are, and everyone else that we know also, are sending many many prayers…xxoo

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Sasha Rau at Saturday, April 30, 2011, 9:11 AM


Yay for Roger and Donna. Good for you for advocating!
I am thinking of you so much…
xoxo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

