Originally Posted 4.25.2011 “so…”

Ange and I met with the Radiation Oncologist and we are not going to do radiation at this time which I am happy about. The reason why is because the cancer is spread out over a large area. (there are small spots all over my hip, sacrum and lower back) Since they radiated a large area the last time, at this time they don’t want to risk the side effects of doing the same area twice (radiation in that area could cause bones to break, serious bowel issues and nerve damage)

The doctor told us to meet with the pain management doctor tomorrow and the orthopedic doctor next week. They mentioned that the ortho department can do several things to strenghen bones, one surgery they use rods to reinforce the area.

I asked the doctor to show us the scans, and as is compared the last one to the current one i noticed that my right hip lit up on the PET scan, so I asked him if that was cancer, and he said yes. I acted normal then, but as the night goes on, all of what happened today is hitting me pretty hard…

No radiation because the cancer is too spread out…someday maybe a possible surgery to reinforce my bones…and more cancer…

UGH!

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Sasha Rau at Tuesday, April 26, 2011, 8:05 AM


Jen this is so upsetting. I can imagine it is hitting you hard. On the one hand, I’m glad you don’t have to go through radiation right now because it was so torturous, on the other, the discovery of the spread is so scary. I’m glad you are meeting with pain management today and ortho next week. Please know I am here for you and will do anything you need. I love you so much…

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Camille & Larry Wise at Tuesday, April 26, 2011, 9:58 AM


Oh Jen what a bunch of crap you are going thru. I just want to be there and hug you. Hang in there sweetie. There has to be better days ahead. Love to You and Ange

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Jennifer Merendino at Tuesday, April 26, 2011, 10:09 AM


Dad…
You and Mom will be here soon…Lots of hugs will be had!!!

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Jessica Moser at Tuesday, April 26, 2011, 5:49 PM


Oh, Jen. This is something that is so unfair, and so scary. It must be exhausting to carry around, you poor baby. But , but, but… you did know that it had spread, because you’re in tune with your body – we’ve talked about this very topic. So this is confirming what you suspected.

And, you told Traina months ago that you wanted something that would kick this cancer’s ass – and now you are finally getting that drug that’s supposed to do that. My fingers are crossed that it is working in your body as we speak.

I’m so very sorry that you and Ange have to go through this crap. And I hope the pain doctor has some good advice that can be implemented today.

Sending lots and lots of love…

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Alyce Wagner at Tuesday, April 26, 2011, 8:47 PM


I wish I could say something that would just take away all of your fear and bad feelings. I continue to pray every day that they will find something that will make you feel good again. I’m sorry you have to go through all of this.

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Aimee Merendino at Tuesday, April 26, 2011, 9:13 PM


Love you Jen… so sorry you are facing this reality, but you are so strong. ((Hugs)) & prayers to you and Angelo

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Lu Semenzin at Wednesday, April 27, 2011, 12:35 AM


i am so saddened to hear these latest developments. hoping you got some good news/help from the pain management doctor today. chronic pain makes a everything less bearable. i hope physical relief is in sight for you, and that peace of mind will follow. sending so much love and light your way, dear friend.

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Sasha Rau at Wednesday, April 27, 2011, 9:44 AM


I’m thinking of you as always. Wondering how the pain consult went. Hope you have some relief. Sending so much love to you and Ange… xo

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Dianna Kamp at Wednesday, April 27, 2011, 10:47 AM


Big big hug to you and Ange xoxo

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Tina Esposito at Wednesday, April 27, 2011, 1:48 PM


Jen, please know how much I think and pray for you and Ange both. I can only hope that you get some comforting news today. BIG BIG HUGS XOXO Tina

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Colleen Dangerfield at Wednesday, April 27, 2011, 8:20 PM


I also hope your management appt went well and they able to offer you some relief/alternatives. I am so sorry for all that you are going through. My biggest love to you and Ange. xoxo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

