Originally Posted 4.15.2011 “5 minutes…”

that’s how long it took to push the chemo through my veins…so quick it was crazy…
My Doctor changed my pain meds again because I’ve been in so much pain to just straight PERCOCET no Tylenol..and with the full results of scans in, the PET lit up quite a bit in my hip area..they are going to send me to an orthopedic guy to see what we should do…they are worried about breakage..so maybe radiation again? Or maybe the chemo will do the trick..
The common side effects of this drug are nausea, neuropothy, and hair loss..
I’m prepared for all I guess..I’ve been thinking about how I may feel being bald and functioning in the city..(since before I was home on disability) there will be no hiding the fact that I have cancer..I’m sure I’ll adjust to it, but I imagine it will be hard at first…

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Michelle Tolpa at Friday, April 15, 2011, 9:15 PM


I’m here and thinking about you. I love you very much and you are always on mind and in my heart.

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Lu Semenzin at Friday, April 15, 2011, 10:04 PM


gah, it was so great talking to you tonight and actually hearing your voice and not just imagining it when i read your posts here. i hope the change in pain meds does the trick on the pain. and hoping you have a peaceful weekend with ange…until you go to your benefit on sunday! i hope it rocks and is HUGELY successful! much love to you, dear friend. mwah.

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Camille & Larry Wise at Friday, April 15, 2011, 10:19 PM


Your hair will come back right Jen? Just get well. Maybe this is the ticket eh Bumper. Love you

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Erin Santos at Friday, April 15, 2011, 10:20 PM


Happy the treatment was quick. And you can work just about any look. There are many vio’s that come with a bald head. Seats in a subway, use of non-public restrooms, smiles from ordinarily nasty people. I have a list of a million things.. Some great, some odd…

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Sasha Rau at Friday, April 15, 2011, 11:01 PM


I hope the percoset gets rid of the pain and that this chemo is more tolerable than the gemzar. I am sorry to hear about your hip. I guess it explains the increased pain? I imagine losing your hair brings up a lot too… though I hope you know how gorgeous you are and (I hope it’s not annoying to say) you looked stunning when you were bald… I know that’s missing the real point– what it all means, how visible you may feel etc… though I gotta say… when I was bald most people assumed it was a fashion statement and not once did I ever get offered a seat in the subway…

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Colleen Dangerfield at Saturday, April 16, 2011, 4:46 PM


I read an article that said that acupuncture can be helpful in relieving/ reducing neuropathy. I know you have tried it, did you find it helpful? I am hoping that the new pain regimen works better and this chemo KICKS ASS!!! Love love love to you and Ange. xoxoxo

Sending you Healing Energy (reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Kellie Bendik at Saturday, April 16, 2011, 7:02 PM


Jennifer, I am a friend of your Fathers from the steel industry days. I had the honor of watching all you kids grown up over the course of many years. Your Dad has kept me in the loop as we have been praying for you for years. There is an intercessory prayer group who prays for you on an ongoing basis to provide you with strength, courage, tenacity, peace, tranquility, perserverance and more as you take the steps on this journey. You are as beautiful as I remember and what a woman you have become. Dear Gracious Child, know many surround you with prayer in all your times of need. May your body and spirit grow stronger, as you teach many how to walk in Faith, with Hope and In Love. Committed to Prayer

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Jennifer Merendino at Saturday, April 16, 2011, 7:52 PM


Thank Kellie for your kind words…means a lot…

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Lisa Stein at Saturday, April 16, 2011, 10:18 PM


I remember having a whole session (seriously a whole session) with Dr. Massie about my hair once. She said to me you must have had beautiful hair before and you must have felt that it identified you as a person. The ironic thing was that i did not have nice hair (thin, going gray and typically unstyled as I was always too lazy to get it cut or colored). Even more ironic, I never got any compliments on my hair, but when I was bald and then sporting a crew cut – then I got tons of compliments. At first I thought that being bald or having the short hair meant that when people see you, they feel sorry for you and they see sick. But in speaking with Dr. Massie I realized that the short hair shows everyone that you are a fighter and when your hair starts to grow back, it means that you are winning. I for one can’t wait to see you sporting a crew cut when your hair starts to grow back. Sending love.

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Jennifer Merendino at Saturday, April 16, 2011, 11:47 PM


Thank you Lisa:)

you ARE a fighter AND a winner!! (reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Deborah Pangallo at Monday, April 18, 2011, 11:24 AM


LIsa Stein’s comments are wonderful – and of course Erin is right on the money about all the things you can do in NYC and you can rock any look – thinking of you
XXX00 –
Deb

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

