Originally Posted 2.2.2011 “Yesterday”

Met with Dr. Traina in the morning..found out that the new spots in my liver are small and they are inside my liver not outside like I thought and hoped.. But they are not affecting my functions so that is good..an area lit up on the pet scan on my middle back but didn’t show up on the cat scan..it could mean nothing or that there is something small (cancer) starting there too..I wasn’t sure if I wanted to do a drug that is really strong, but Dr. Traina convinced me that Gemzar is a very good drug and the right next step.. They will watch my white count and liver/kidney functions closely, since both can be affected by Gemzar.
The treatment was a bit scary since I’d never had it before. They gave me anti nausea meds before we started and told me that the drug may hurt going in and eventually I’ll probably need a port (which I’ve been fighting not to get). So hearing that made me really scared, but they put a hot compress on my arm that seemed to help with the pain because I barely had any. Treatment was only a half hour and went pretty well. Since we were hungry, we hung out with our friends Erin and Isabella for a bit, which really lifted our spirits..
But by the time we were leaving, the flu like symptoms started to set in…I’m nauseated and achy but the meds I’m taking are helping..

In response to Erin’s note yesterday..
I shop at Whole Foods and I don’t eat meat, chicken or fish except Salmon and Cod. I only have dairy if it’s organic grass fed (same with eggs) or made with raw milk. No soy or flax seed or anything processed and I try to eat everything as organic as I can (although not when we go out to eat because it’s nearly impossible)
Our favorite places to eat are Peacefood Cafe, Cafe Viva (awesome organic pizza), and we love Italian (basic pasta with marinara is my favorite)
My favorite flowers are roses.
And although I won’t be drinking as often as my Italian blood woud like.. I do love “Our Daily Red” organic and yummy.

Check the calendar for updates on when I need company for treatment. (Dianna has it covered this week since Ange has jury duty)

Thanks for all of you notes of support it really means so much to Ange and I.

Today (reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Camille & Larry Wise at Wednesday, February 2, 2011, 4:27 PM


We can only hope today went well. Since one of your favorites came to see you I would imagine it went well. Love You

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Sasha Rau at Wednesday, February 2, 2011, 4:59 PM


Jen thanks for sharing all this. It’s a lot to take in. I am here for you in Ange in any way you need.
Love you both!

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Colleen Dangerfield at Wednesday, February 2, 2011, 7:58 PM


I’m glad some parts of the day went better than expected. that’s always a good thing. and yes thank you soo much for sharing everything. I love you.

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Michelle Tolpa at Thursday, February 3, 2011, 6:54 AM


Thinking of you this morning and hoping you are feeling better. Love u & see u soon. Xxoo

Virtual hug (reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Deborah Pangallo at Thursday, February 3, 2011, 8:36 AM


so glad to see that list on your blog – thinking of you
XXX000
Deb & Bobby

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Tina Esposito at Thursday, February 3, 2011, 10:38 AM


Jen I am thinking of you and hoping your feeling better. I may be out of town, but plesae know that I will do whatever I can to help.Hope to see you soon. Love, Tina

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Lu Semenzin at Thursday, February 3, 2011, 2:57 PM


hoping you are tolerating your day…thanks for being so transparent…bringing us all a little closer to your world…sending you much love…

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Camille & Larry Wise at Friday, February 4, 2011, 6:29 AM


I know you had a rough day yesterday. Hopefully the affects of the drug will decrease as the day goes by. Love those little videos of little Isabella. Here is to a good day.

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Sasha Rau at Friday, February 4, 2011, 6:46 AM


Thinking about you and sending more love…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

