Originally Posted 10.14.2010 “check up”

had my 2nd year check up with my plastic surgeon..i always have so many questions to ask him..but then after i filled out 20 minutes of follow up paper work for my implant trial the need to just be finished with the appointment hits..

he asked..how are you feeling?
I say..well you know i have cancer again?
he says..oh yay..i think i read that somewhere..where do you have it..
i reply..liver and bones..

and thats it..he moved on to touching my implants and saying they looked good..and he’ll see me in one year..
UGHHHH…so all of my questions..like do you ever do surgery to fix implants on stage 4 patients? just flood out of my head..oh well can’t go back in time..

as i was leaving i asked if i could see the photos they have on file of my breasts..i thought i might cry..but i didn’t (i am now though) but it was really sad to see what you once had, to see the scars..to see the radiation..to see yourself..

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Nancy Hafter at Friday, October 15, 2010, 8:28 AM


Jen, I am so sorry about that exchange with Dr. C – whatever made me think he would be different? You should definitely call the office back and ask your questions. I once asked to see my pix too, I joked with the technician, “I had better not see these on the internet”….she didn’t get it at all. I think some of them just get desensitized? But then I am so thankful for someone like Dr. H. Big gummy bear hugs and smooches.

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Sasha Rau at Friday, October 15, 2010, 9:25 AM


Oh I hear you. More than you know…. Sending so much love…

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Sasha Rau at Friday, October 15, 2010, 9:26 AM


By the way, I feel rage about his response…

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Jessica Moser at Friday, October 15, 2010, 11:43 AM


As expected, he continues to be a a self-absorbed jerk … I’m convinced that’s why his nurses are so nice, because they need to counter-balance him. So you should definitely call and ask all your questions. So very sorry you had to deal with that crap on top of everything. (but at least your boobs looks good …;-) )

Hello (reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by MaryAnn Merendino at Sunday, October 17, 2010, 6:17 PM


Hi Dear Heart, it has been many weeks of class and studying and work and taking Vilma to exercise class – she argues the point until we are finished and then she feels better and is happy. Taking care of oneself does that. Although there was the time when a rather limber elderly woman was stretching during the yoga part of class and your mother-in-law looked at her and said, and I quote, “Think you’re smart don’t you?” I suggested she apologize which she did as she meant no ill intent, and her fellow exerciser just laughed and espoused the merits of exercise. It was scary for a moment, which is a feeling I know you share … so I hope the story made you chuckle, know that you are loved, voodoo wishes to the rude doctor. xoxo

You didn’t actually expect the man to change did you? (reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Laura Webb at Monday, October 18, 2010, 10:40 AM


He does great work – he is an artist – and an ass. I guess you can’t have it all…

ps. loved the Vilma story – thanks Mary Ann

Dr. C (reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Camille & Larry Wise at Wednesday, October 20, 2010, 6:37 AM


Jen-so sorry you had to have this encounter with that pompas ass. Doctors should be no different than the person who waits on you at the store. They need to smile and have pleasant conversation. You still are a customer so to say. They get so big and so full of them selves. Sickening. Love You Bumper.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

