Originally Posted 11.18.2008 “Regina Brett and Gabrielle”

I just got home from listening to Regina Brett and her daughter speak about Regina’s breast cancer experience and Gabrielle’s decision to have a prophilactic(sp) bilateral mastectomy. I was in tears several times. They both spoke from their heart. What a wonderful experience. The room was full of mostly young women students. What a great message to be able to deliver to such a young audience…the ones who don’t think they need to hear it but really do. I was wishing you could have been there. Regina shared some of her fears of going into the newsroom after her hair fell out. She never wore a wig. She said sometimes she wore a hat but ended up taking it off. She’s such a neat lady.

(reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Lu Semenzin at Tuesday, November 18, 2008, 7:40 PM


i wish i could have been there…is she a local newscaster, or national? i really love how you have embraced your new reality and decided to educate yourself and taken on the task of educating all the woman around you. i’m all ears…and remain continually grateful and in awe of you.

thanks, dear friend. lu

RE: (reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Jennifer Merendino at Tuesday, November 18, 2008, 11:20 PM


Lu, that was my aunt who saw Regina not me.. but I have to say that she has been embracing things just like me.. and aunt Alyce, I can only imagine how amazing that must have been. I’m sure I would have bawled my eyes out. thank you for sharing

Regina Brett (reply to this | Edit | Delete)
by Margaret Herring at Monday, November 24, 2008, 1:48 PM


She spoke at our annual luncheon (for the place I work). She was awesome! My boss quoted her for weeks afterwards.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

