What is good for me? What is too good for me?

What’s hard for me to understand is that all of the “anti-cancer” foods, like berries, green teas, acai berries are supposed to keep cancer at bay. But what do you do when you already have cancer? Most of the books say that by eating anti-cancer foods while under going treatment can actually cause the chemotherapy to become less potent.

All of the books to fight cancer out in the bookstores tell you what to eat to prevent cancer, but not what to eat when you have stage 4 cancer and will be on some sort of therapy for the rest of your life,

I feel like I am on a lonely path and desperately need help!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to What is good for me? What is too good for me?

  1. Sasha says:

    That is really awful that there is no guidance about what you can/should eat! Does the dietician have anything to say? What about the crazy sexy book? Though she didn’t have chemo, right? I heard all raw can be really good. But then I have this other thought: how about starting with the list of everything, and I mean everything, that you can eat/that won’t interfere and just eat what you want. While doing that you can find out what can actually help. I sometimes find YSC boards more helpful for that… There are a lot of women on there with stage 4 BC who are talking about adjunct/alternative medicine and probably diets…
    Love you.

  2. jessica says:

    I’m sorry that you feel so alone, but of course it makes so much sense. Of course you feel desperate when there’s no readily available direction. I wish there were more accessible resources for you.

    If the books don’t have any good advice, can you work with a nutritionist – does our girl Kristy have any guidance? Because you are not the only person who has stage 4, you shouldn’t have to go this alone – there have got to be resources for you to leverage, and you shouldn’t have to invent the wheel, especially given everything else you’re handling. I feel like Sloan should be able to help you here.
    And you deserve to not have to figure this out all by yorself.

    Love you.

  3. Katie Chery says:

    I’ll talk to my friend Dana again and see what she has to say. This is exactly the kind of question that she would like to tackle. I’m not sure if she would be able to address the issue of food’s impact/interaction with chemo but let’s see.

    I love you!

  4. Erin santos says:

    Isabella said chocolate and red lobster help her. :). You never know.. The girl is in remission! (knock on wood). Hate that we will miss you next week.

  5. Unfortunately the focus has been on breast cancer awareness & that hasn’t gotten us very far. More than disappointing, especially when you see the amount of money Komen raises versus gives to research. So much for “the cure.”

    There are so many conflicting things we should & should not do to prevent breast cancer, then when we’re diagnosed, those same things are not on the approved list. I sometimes think it’s all show and no go. I do know you should not eat sugar, foods that turn to sugar (white rice, bread, pasta) or foods that are high on the glycemic index, plus not alcohol. Are you aware of Kris Carr & Sexy Crazy Cancer? She’s had some amazing results keeping her cancer from growing for several years with her well-documented diet.

    I’m sorry you’re going through this. It’s every “survivor’s” worst nightmare.

  6. Kendra says:

    Wow that is so confusing. I can only imagine you’re frustrated. Let me put my feelers out to some of my nutrition friends to see what I can find out too.
    Love you!!!

  7. Nancy says:

    Jen,
    Please call Guy – 917.743.6830 xoxoxo

  8. Jen says:

    call 216 595-9546 and ask to speak with EIleen Coan in the library or the nutritionist…they may have some ideas….

  9. Danielle Robertson says:

    you are not alone, friend.

  10. Sasha says:

    Thinking of you…

  11. lu says:

    nope, you are most definately NOT alone, even in your loneliest moments! possibly surrounded by a bunch of other people who don’t know what the hell we should be eating… you’ve taken control of an aspect of your life and your health that most woman are not able to conquer, cancer diagnosis or not. perhaps you will find new information and decide to tweek your plan, but there is no denying that you made a commitment to nourishing your body with the cleanest, wholest foods you could find, and i think you deserve a LOT of credit forsticking with that conviction… i love you and hope you find your way to what is best for you and your body…your body needs fuel to continue to fight and heal…i echo what has already been said, which is to find a nutritionist you trust, and sloan is probably the best place to start…or bring it up at your support group…a lot of smart, savvy woman in there, i bet… be well, dear friend. you are my hero

  12. Katie Chery says:

    Thinking of you and sending great big gobs of love! Xxxooo

  13. Ann says:

    I haven’t read the books but I know that Cancer Treatment Centers of America has nutritional information on their website. It was informative though it is just one information source. I’ll keep looking….

  14. lu says:

    what’s with this “crazy sexy” kris carr chick? do we love her or hate her? i quickly glanced at her website and i think i want to read her book! what do you and your friends think of her? sending you love tonight! have a great vacation!!! :D

  15. Diana says:

    I’ve been through chemo, and it nearly killed me. (literally) I can’t imagine something like green tea, or berries making it less potent. When you find what is right, it will resonate with you. Integrative Medicine and Integrative Nutrition were what fit for me. I recommend Dr. Donald Abrams insights http://www.osher.ucsf.edu/bios/abrams.html He is an integrative medicine oncologist. “Integrative medicine is a healing-oriented medicine that takes account of the whole person (body, mind and spirit), and the use of both conventional and alternative therapies.” There is also a cancer/nutrition online course at the University of Arizona that could answer some questions for you as well: http://www.integrativemedicine.arizona.edu.

Leave a Reply

